Camp Kirkwood

The 6th grade came to Camp Kirkwood on August 30. We arrived around noon. First, we went off to our cabins to unpack. Girls cabins were 1,2,3, and 4. Boys cabins were 5,6,7, and 8. I was in cabin number 4. My cabin had one other girl from my advisory and two other advisory’s girls. My friend Ainslie and I bunked together. After we got settled in and unpacked we ate lunch at the Dining Hall. We ate a grilled cheese sandwich with ham. After we ate, we went off to activities. We were split up into 6 groups. I was in group 6. The first activity my group did was the Kanga jump. The Kanga jump was a trampoline. It was a different shape than most trampolines. It was a curved shape, but instead of climbing onto it from a ladder, we ran onto it. All of the activities were one hour, except the pool was two hours. After the Kanga jump, groups 4, 5 and 6 went to the pool. Before we got in, we had to do a swim test. We had to do Freestyle across the pool and if you passed, you got a blue band, but if you didn’t pass, you got a green band and wore a life jacket. I passed the test. Once everyone was done with the test, we played moss, swam around the pool, and dived for two hours. Then we did a team building activity.  After we did that we ate spaghetti and garlic bread for dinner. After dinner we went to our cabins and got into our pajamas. Then, instead of a night hike, we watched The Lorax. Then we went back to the cabins and went to bed around 10:00 pm.

We woke up the next morning at 7:00, got dressed and headed to the dining hall for breakfast. The hurricane had hit the first night so it flooded. We couldn’t do outdoor activities in the morning because it was flooded and raining. So after breakfast my group went to the pavilion and learned how to use a compass which was fun and surprisingly easy.  After we did that, we did forest ecology inside and learned about trees and what some parts of trees are called. Then we had lunch. After lunch we went to the pool, then we had dinner which was chicken and mac and cheese. After dinner my group did the V swing which was scary but super fun. Then we had some advisory time for 1 hour. After advisory time, we had s’mores in the woods. After that, we went to our cabins and went to sleep.

Then, on the third and final day, my cabin woke up at 7:00, got ready, and went to breakfast. After we had breakfast we did the kanga jump again, went canoeing, and did a super fun zip line over the lake. After the activities we went to the Dining Hall and ate pizza for lunch. Then, we went to the cabins and packed up our things. When we were done packing we had to bring our duffles all the way from our cabins to the bus. Then we went to the Pavilion and a teacher told us which bus we were on. I was on bus 1. I sat at the back with my friend Sona. After the two and a half hour ride back, we were home.

That’s what I did at Camp Kirkwood. One thing that wasn’t my favorite was the food, but I loved the V swing and zip line. But overall it was good!

One thought on “Camp Kirkwood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *