Wisdom Tale Comic

 

Throughout this year, we have read parts of the Wisdom Tales book. There were stories and legends from all over the world that we read and summarized. In total, we read 20 stories. After we read all of them, we had a parent visit our grade who makes drawings. Brittain Peck is a visual storyteller and artist. He taught us how to draw characters and how to tell a story with drawings. We had an assignment to do a comic showing a story of our choice, so his advice really helped us with our project. 

I chose the story Fire, Water, Truth, and Falsehood from Ethiopia. I chose this story because I thought the moral, which is that truth always wins, was very good. I liked how the moral meant so much, but it was still a simple story. I thought that it was a great reminder to always tell the truth, because so many people are lying so much. But they need to know that it will always come back to them. 

After I chose my story, we started drawing. We used an app called Comic Life to make our story really look like a real comic. We also used an app called Sketchbook to draw our comic. I really enjoyed drawing my comic because it was very calming to do after a long school day. 

While learning about different types of stories, the Wisdom Tales also showed great morals and lessons. The moral for Fire, Water, Truth, and Falsehood is that truth always wins, or as they said it in the book, falsehood can only rule where truth is struggling to be heard. I thought that was a very wise and meaningful moral, so that’s the main reason I chose this story. 

Overall, this was a very fun learning experience for me. Have you ever drawn a comic before?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *